Book Review: Nothing Special [Nothing Special #1] – A.E. Via

[Book 1 of Nothing Special Series]

Nothing SpecialI just have to say this first – I freaking loved this book! I seriously adore God and Day and I think they’re two of the best characters I’ve read in a while! I downloaded this ebook for free and I would’ve paid for it willingly because it’s just so freaking good! It would’ve been worth the price!

Cashel Godfrey and Leonidis Day are without question the best detectives under the Atlanta Police Department. They’ve been partner from the start and they always have each other’s back come hell or high water. Day is openly gay and respected all throughout their department. God on the other hand intimidates the hell out of his colleagues for his brawn and innate authority. And he doesn’t like labels. They are the perfect partner at work in every sense. Until Day finally realized that he’s in love with God.

God has a very dark past that he’d rather keep to himself. When Day tried to uncover this and help him, things started to go to shit and it’s only a matter of time before God decides if revealing his secrets would drive his partner away or it’d make their relationship closer and take it to the next level.

I totally enjoyed their banter with their colleagues and loved the idea that they’re so close they didn’t even realize that they’re practically boyfriends! I loved the grumpy side of God and the chill attitude of Day. They kind of remind me of Dex and Sloane from the THIRDS series and it’s like reading their more subdued version here. I got to say though that God and Day are way hotter! [I still love you baby Dex!!!!]

There was also a brief mention of the famous chef Prescott Vaughan from the author’s You Can See Me where we met Day first as his college roomies. There’s just a bit inconsistency about it because in here, God mentioned that Day used to date the chef when in fact they actually just experimented back in college. And Day also mentioned about joining the chef and his two boyfriends in bed at one point before his relationship with God. Thinking back, I thought Day declined Prescott advances because he was in a relationship back then going on 6 months… so that must be with another guy then yeah? Oh, well – these are just minute detail I’m obsessing about I guess.

Speaking of minute details – did anyone expect that friends with benefits arrangement with Ro and Johnson? I didn’t see that coming at all! Needless to say it was freaking hot as hell and I would’ve welcome more scenes with them boys! LOL

I read that some people were a bit ticked-off about that but I think it’s okay because they’re committed and they’re only playing with one couple (I know, I know – go sue me). Although I did wish that Day wasn’t such a slut and he should’ve let God do the nasty with Ro as well. I mean, Day took it all like a champ! LOL. Okay, of course it was understood that thing would happen but enough of the pervy talk!

I really did enjoy this book and I’m so excited for the rest of the series! That declaration of God at the warehouse was like the “Oscar” moments from the book and I wouldn’t change anything from this book! Fans of Heidi Cullinan, Charlie Cochet and Abigail Roux would definitely get a kick out of this one! Download your free copy now people!

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Download you free copy HERE

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s